How to join NAPABA
NAPABA Convention
Moot Court Competition
Law Students
Boards and Committee
Member Access Website
NAPABA Partners Directory
APA Owned Firm Directory
Privacy Policy

NAPABA Press Release

910 17th St., N.W., Suite 315
Washington, D.C. 20006

Click here to download a PDF copy of the press release.
Click here to view the full awards program with winner biographies.

December 23, 2004

CONTACT: Grace E. Yoo, (202) 421-9039


On November 13, 2004, the National Asian Pacific American Bar Association (NAPABA) proudly announced its “Best Lawyers Under 40” at its 16th Annual Convention.

The 2004 awardees were selected from a competitive field of attorneys in all practice areas. NAPABA selected 22 individuals to receive the honor of being one of its best lawyers under the age of 40. These individuals have not only attained preeminence in their respective legal endeavors, they have also exhibited steadfast commitment to community and public service, particularly in the Asian Pacific American community. They have spearheaded corporate-wide efforts to promote diversity; they have climbed high up the ladder of success despite coming to this country at a young age with no knowledge of the English language; they have tried, and won major trials; they have handled complicated deals; they have been entrusted with the responsibility of header large litigation departments – and they have done it all at a relatively early stage of their careers.

These individuals are annually chosen by NAPABA’s “Best Lawyers Under 40” Selection Committee. The Selection Committee consists of:

  • Jim Goh, Selection Committee Chair, Partner, Holland & Hart LLP
  • Don Liu, General Counsel, IKON Office Solutions, Inc.
  • Hon. Alvin Wong, Judge, State Court of DeKalb County, GA
  • Vivian Tseng, General Counsel, Welch Foods Inc.
  • Wilson Chu, Partner, Haynes and Boone, LLP
  • Debra Yang, U.S. Attorney, Los Angeles
  • Joseph Yao, Major, Hagen & Africa

    This year’s Best Lawyers Under 40 award recipients are:

  • David Chiu, Grassroots Enterprise

  • Marisa Chun, Coblentz, Patch, Duffy & Bass LLP

  • Christina Chung, Asian Pacific American Legal Center of Southern California

  • Jay Chung, Lee Anav Chung LLP

  • Anurag Gulati, General Mills, Inc.

  • Mark Keam, Office of U.S. Senator Richard J. Durbin

  • Christie Kennett, State Farm Insurance Companies

  • Young Kim, U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

  • Victor King, California State University, Los Angeles

  • Viet Le, Avnet, Inc.

  • Grace Lee, Office of Massachusetts State Treasurer Timothy P. Cahill

  • Nelson Lee, King County Prosecuting Attorney’s Office

  • Yabo Lin, Blackwell Sanders Peper Martin LLP

  • Glenn Magpantay, Asian American Legal Defense & Education Fund

  • Anoma Phanthourath, Shughart Thomson & Kilroy, P.C.

  • Ekwan Rhow, Bird Marella

  • Priya Sanger, Wells Fargo Bank, N.A.

  • Jayashri Srikantial, Stanford Law School

  • Hoang Quan Vu, Mayer, Brown, Rowe & Maw LLP

  • Alice Wong, Sacramento County District Attorney’s Office

  • Frank Wu, Wayne State University Law School

  • Bettina Yip, Cingular Wireless


  • Click here to view the full awards program with winner biographies.


    print version © 1995-2014 National Asian Pacific American Bar Association   
    The NAPABA and the NAPABA logo are Registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.